• Topbanner

    Scientific Advisors

Scientific Advisors

John Camm Prof. John Camm

More info

John Camm is Professor of Clinical Cardiology at St George's Hospital Medical School, University of London, UK, and Professor of Cardiology at Imperial College, London. Professor Camm is a Fellow of the Medical Academy of Science, the Royal College of Physicians, the American College of Cardiology, the American Heart Association, the Heart Rhythm Association, and the European Society of Cardiology (ESC). He is President of the Arrhythmia Alliance, Founder of the Atrial Fibrillation Association, Editor-in-Chief of Europace and Clinical Cardiology, Editor of European Heart Journal, and an editorial board member of a further 15 journals.

Professor Camm is also Editor of the European Society of Cardiology Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine, Electrophysiology of the Heart, Clinical Cardiology and Evidence Based Medicine. He has written or edited more than 40 books, predominantly in the field of cardiac arrhythmology and authored or co-authored almost 1100 peer reviewed papers, more than 500 book chapters, and in excess of 2500 accepted abstracts. He has delivered more than 500 international lectures.

Professor Camm has been involved in the production of numerous medical guidelines, including the ESC guidelines for the management of atrial fibrillation. Professor Camm was awarded the ESC Gold Medal in 2005 and the British Cardiovascular Society Mackenzie Medal in 2008. Professor Camm is the President of the European Heart Rhythm Association for 2017-2018.

Jeremy Ruskin Prof. Jeremy Ruskin, MD

More info

Dr. Jeremy Ruskin is Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Founder and Director Emeritus of the Cardiac Arrhythmia Service at Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Ruskin received his undergraduate degree summa cum laude from Tufts University in 1967 and his medical degree cum laude from Harvard Medical School in 1971.

In 1978, Dr. Ruskin founded the MGH Cardiac Arrhythmia Service and Clinical Electrophysiology Laboratory, the first subspecialty service dedicated to the care of patients with cardiac arrhythmias in New England and one of the first in the United States.

Dr. Ruskin served as a member of the FDA Cardiovascular and Renal Drugs Advisory Committee for 5 years and as a consultant to the National Center for Health Services Research and Health Care Technology Assessment.

For the past 25 years, he has worked extensively on the scientific and regulatory aspects of medical device and drug development as well as cardiovascular drug safety. In 1996, Dr. Ruskin founded the Annual International Atrial Fibrillation Symposium which he has directed since its inception and is the largest and longest running free-standing academic meeting on atrial fibrillation worldwide.

Dr. Ruskin is an author of more than 450 original scientific publications, chapters, reviews, guidelines and monographs. Dr. Ruskin also maintains an active regional, national and international referral practice in the field of cardiac arrhythmias and electrophysiology and is recognized annually in Best Doctors in America and Best Doctors in Boston.

Dr. Ruskin is the recipient of the 1997 Michel Mirowski Award for Excellence in Clinical Cardiology and Electrophysiology, the 2002 Heart Rhythm Society Pioneer in Pacing and Electrophysiology Award and the 2015 KCHRS Pioneer in Electrophysiology Award. He was named the inaugural incumbent of the Omran Alomran Endowed Chair in Cardiology at Massachusetts General Hospital in 2016.

Nils Edvardsson Dr. Nils Edvardsson, MD

More info

Nils Edvardsson is a clinical cardiologist and has worked as Chief cardiologist, arrhythmia section, at Sahlgrenska University Hospital. In addition to that he was a full-time advisor to AstraZeneca and has served as member of numerous advisory and steering commitees on anti-arrhythmic drugs.

Dr Edvardsson served as CMO in Acesion Pharma 2014-2020 and was responsible for the clinical development of Acesion's drug candidate AP30663 for cardioversion of AF. Currently Nils Edvardsson is a Medical Advisor to Acesion on the company's clinical development portfolio in AF treatment.

Dobromir Dobrev Prof. Dobromir Dobrev

More info

Dobromir Dobrev is Professor at the Institute of Pharmacology at the Universitätsklinikum Essen, Germany. His areas of expertise include neuroscience, cell biology and physiology and he is a leading expert in cellular electrophysiology and calcium homeostasis of cardiomyocytes.

Professor Dobrev's main research areas are the molecular pathophysiology of arrhythmias, mechanisms of remodeling of ion channels and transporter proteins in the cardiovascular system, regulation of the cardiac calcium-homeostasis and signal transduction in cardiovascular diseases, and the machanisms of the trasscriptional gene regulation of the heart.

He has authored or coauthored around 300 peer-reviewed publications.

His research has greatly contributed to the advance of understanding of molecular mechanisms underlying development, progression and maintenance of cardiac arrhythmias, particularly atrial fibrillation.

Bob Humphries Bob Humphries

More info

Bob Humphries is a pharmacologist with 30+ years of pharma experience (Fisons, Astra and AstraZeneca) as scientific and cross functional project team leader. He led teams in discovery and early progression of the marketed anti-thrombotics Brilinta and Cangrelor and cross functional teams responsible for early development of AZ bronchodilator and GR agonist projects. As VP of Inhaled Projects in AZ Respiratory and Inflammation, he was responsible for maintaining project delivery and overall strategy of Inhaled Projects and was involved in partnered early development projects and successful out-licensing. Since 2012, Bob Humphries has worked as a consultant with the aim to assist project teams translate ideas to credible, achievable plans to realise potential opportunities to change patients' lives.